Politics and the New World “Odor”

Let’s face it; “Politics Stink!!”

As the US Presidential campaign enters the final two month stretch before the election, everyone in the world begins to take notice; realizing that whomever becomes the president for the next four years will inevitably have a great influence on not only the political topography but also the militaristic and economic conditions of the whole world.

As much as everyone wants to imagine their particular country being immune and out of reach of these effects, the sad truth is country is totally immune nor able to avoid the influences that the change of the US President brings. I have lived in Europe and I know well that there is an “anti-American” sentiment and the USA is quite often the punchline of many jokes; I suppose George W. Bush gave the world plenty of political satire ammunition with his demeanor and overall presence (yes, I too cringed when he tried to hug Chancellor Angela Merkel the first time he met her………uuuuugggggghhhhhh). I almost wet my pants with laughter when George Herbert Walker Bush vomited on the Prime Minister of Japan (until I came to my senses to realize the world was not laughing with me). Saturday Night Live never ran out of ideas for their comedy.

Needless to say, the next four years will determine the survival and extinction of many initiatives. I am not advocating either of the candidates that are in the running but I do realize that we as a collective civilization will be greatly influenced by the outcome. Our country is still in its infancy compared to the rest of the world’s inhabitants. While living in Europe, I began to appreciate the difference between “America’s definition of long ago” and “Europe’s definition of long ago”. The fact that most of the streets in Europe are older than my country pretty much sums it up. I also realize America is often viewed as a “teenager that knows everything”; which is certainly not the reality. I love my country and I am patriotic yet I do realize that we sometimes overstep our boundaries. We are not always right on an issue of subject; no one ever is.

For those reading this blog who are able to vote in the coming election, I encourage you to do so. The authority and power resides with the people of a country and when they speak with one voice, things change. At least, I want to believe that. Perhaps I am naive and wrong.

“I tell you what; I will blog about things I know………like Satanism. I will leave the politics alone!! Does that sound good?”

Until Next Time,

Aleister Nacht

Like this post? Leave a Comment or Repost to your Blog.

